Academician of RAS A.V.Rzhanov
Corresponding Member of RAS K.K.Svitashev
The Institute of Semiconductor Physics Siberian Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences (ISP SBRAS) was founded in 1964 originating from unification of the Institute of Solid State Physics and Semiconductor Electronics and the Institute of Radiophysics and Electronics, Siberian Branch, USSR Academy of Sciences. The founder of ISP SBRAS was Anatoly Vasilyevich Rzhanov, Academician of RAS, and continuous Director of ISP SBRAS since 1964 to 1990. Later, since 1990 to 1998 ISP SBRAS was headed by Konstantin Konstantinovich Svitashev, Corresponding Member of RAS. And since 1998 Dr. Alexander Leonidovich Aseev is the Head of ISP SBRAS. Alexander Vasilyevich Latyshev - RAS corresponding member, doctor of physical-mathematical sciences - has been Director of A.V. Rzhanov Institute of Semiconductor Physics, Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, since 2013.

In 1990 the Institute became the leading institution in the Joint Institute of Semiconductor Physics (JISP) among the Institute of Semiconductor Physics (ISP), SB RAS and the Design Technological Institute of Applied Microelectronics (DTIAM), SB RAS. In 1996 the Institute of Sensor Microelectronics (ISME), SB RAS, Omsk was incorporated into JISP.

For the recent years the Institute of Semiconductor Physics, SB RAS is one of the leading scientific and research centers in Russia specialized in fundamental and applied researches in the fields of Semiconductor physics, Micro- and Nanoelectronics. 13 members of ISP SBRAS were rewarded with USSR State Premiums and State Prize of the Russian Federation.

Nowadays the Institute unites more than 1000 members including 214 scientific staffers: 2 Academician, 4 RAS Corresponding members, 42 Doc. phys.-math. sci. and 131 PhDs in phys.-math. sci. and oth.

The Institute has 3 buildings and has a total area of 35'735 sq. meters. The unique thermostatic building where all semiconductor structures' fabrication and research equipment for micro-, microphoto-. nano- and acoustoelectronics is concentrated.